logobottom about info member printables calendar
This website is designed and sponsored by:

SCSSA Hosts Annual Convocation

In keeping with its annual tradition, the Suffolk County School Superintendents Association hosted its convocation to recognize retiring superintendents, honor outstanding members of the association with the Honorary Life Membership award and induct the Board of Directors for the 2013-2014 school year.

This year, the SCSSA acknowledged the following retiring superintendents for their years of dedication and service to the school districts they serve in Suffolk County: Superintendent of Southampton UFSD Dr. J. Richard Boyes, Superintendent of Little Flower UFSD George Grigg, Superintendent of Connetquot CSD Dr. Alan B. Groveman and Superintendent of West Islip UFSD Richard Simon. In addition, several previously retired superintendents were awarded Honorary Life Membership for their outstanding service to the association and their commitment to furthering the goals of the SCSSA: former Superintendents of Schools Dr. Allan Gerstenlauer, Dr. Harriet Copel and Thomas Shea.

James F. McKenna, outgoing SCSSA president and superintendent of the Mattituck-Cutchogue UFSD, expressed his appreciation to the members of the Board of Directors and Cluster Leaders for their service during the 2012-2013 school year and congratulated the retirees and Honorary Life members. Dr. Roberta A. Gerold, incoming SCSSA president and superintendent of Middle Country CSD, was introduced and will officially begin in her role as president on July 1, 2013.